The Plank In My Eye

Matthew 7:3, On judging: 2.”For in the way you judge, you will be judged; and by your standard of measure, it will be measured to you. 3.“Why do you look at the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? 4.“Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ and behold, the log is in your own eye?…

Often, when we read this verse we are tempted to show it to someone else to point out what they are doing.  However, this verse is not about what someone else is doing, instead it is about self. A couple of years ago my brother spent time creating a wood carving of verse 3 to show to me. It was not until he completed the carving that he truly understood it meaning.

As I was writing Transitions, A Spiritual Evolution

My book, "Transitions"

My book, “Transitions”

I started to write an instructional book, however, the deeper I got into the subject material the better I understood that it is not my job to tell another person how to live, rather it is important for me to learn how to live. Toward that goal I have continued to work on myself, writing another book, Perspectives, Thirty Days to Life and

To see the good in all things with a different perspective

To see the good in all things with a different perspective

now working on my third book, Patience. For the first two books my focus was on letting the reader know what I have experienced.  I am trying to take a different approach on Patience.

I have also looked at various authors’ and spiritual teachers’ approaches to their books and post publication work. Many advance their concepts in lectures and promotions that provide specific guidance on things a person should do to advance themselves along a spiritual path to include specific practices and mantras. I ask myself why they do this and then I draw a judgmental conclusion that most people are impatient and therefore want a shortcut.

I will have difficulty with myself if I start telling you what to do with your life. At the best I can only tell you the path that I have chosen to take and discuss the obstacles that I must overcome. I know that many look for quick solutions, a cure if you will that will help them reach a desired goal for their life.  I am no different, I too look for the easy path. In Perspectives I tell the story of a dream I had, walking around an island on a well beaten path, stopping at one point to look off into the misty fog. I must find the courage to step off this beaten trail and break a new trail.   I feel good right now, I do not need to try hard, I just need to relax and let it happen.

There is a plank in my eye, I will work on removing it, cleanse the wound and let it heal. Perhaps, after the plank is gone I will be able to see better, perhaps not. Whatever the case God is with me always, knowing this brings peace and comfort.

God loves you, the Angels love you,

Love always

Nathaniel

Leave a Reply

