Closing Out 2015

We come to the end of our year 2015 remembering the things that caught our attention the most. For me there was the complexity of moving our home from Colorado to Florida, which though difficult, enabled Mimi and I to spend more time with our immediate family and that was awesome.

zophiel_symbol

The Symbol of the Archangel Zophiel

 

Look at all the good things that have happened in the past year; the sharing of love and joy with family and friends. I have followed your comments on Facebook and Twitter and it has been truly amazing as I have watched the spread of love and caring. More often I hear people talking of God’s love than I have ever heard before. This is our time. This is the time that the 99% of us who live in this world together; sharing our love with family and friends, to be heard, not outrageously, but quietly and completely. It has been the time that our voices have reached out in a worldly direction saying that it is time for forgiveness so that we may all live in peace and harmony.

I understand that the 1%ers have tried to convince us to forget about love and instead push us to hate each other. However, a man in Paris who had suffered personal loss from attacks wrote this letter:

YOU STOLE THE LOVE OF MY LIFE: FULL TRANSCRIPT OF HUSBAND’S LETTER

“On Friday night you stole the life of an exceptional being, the love of my life, the mother of my son, but you won’t have my hatred.

I don’t know who you are and I don’t want to know – you are dead souls. If this God for which you kill indiscriminately made us in his own image, every bullet in the body of my wife will have been a wound in his heart.

So no, I don’t give you the gift of hating you. You are asking for it but responding to hatred with anger would be giving in to the same ignorance that made you what you are. 

You want me to be afraid, to view my fellow countrymen with mistrust, to sacrifice my freedom for security. You have lost.

I saw her this morning. Finally, after many nights and days of waiting. She was just as beautiful as when she left on Friday night, just as beautiful as when I fell hopelessly in love over 12 years ago. 

Of course I’m devastated with grief, I admit this small victory, but it will be short-lived. I know she will accompany us every day and that we will find ourselves in this paradise of free souls to which you’ll never have access.

We are two, my son and I, but we are stronger than all the armies of the world. 

I don’t have any more time to devote to you, I have to join Melvil who is waking up from his nap. He is barely 17-months-old. He will eat his meals as usual, and then we are going to play as usual, and for his whole life this little boy will threaten you by being happy and free. Because no, you will not have his hatred either.”

I can only try to understand his grief as he wrote this letter yet still he tries to send forward the message that hate and anger only lead to more hate and anger so he chooses to stop the hate. It is a good start, may we read and understand what he is trying to say even as he attempts not to judge yet still does because of his grief.

All of us must reach past our grief; past our anger; past our hatred and work to forgive ourselves and each other for all we have done to hurt each other. Then we need to work together to build a better tomorrow for our children and grandchildren.

I have discovered that Love is the most powerful force in the Universe. Love lives in our hearts and it is always there even though we may try to hide it for some esoteric reason.

Today, let us say goodbye to the past. Let us accept the past as what has made us who we are today and then plan for a bright and beautiful tomorrow. It is not an easy path. As a species, though we humans have failed to achieve complete peace and harmony for thousands of years, I must say that even in software development, a 1% error rate is really a great achievement and if you do the math you will discover that we have a greater than 99% rate for people who choose love over hate.

So, as we close out 2015 I will not ask God to bless you because he does that every instant of every day without our asking. Rather, I ask that you understand that God is Love and Love is God. I ask that you understand that we are all created equally by God and he loves us all equally and unconditionally, without exception.

We are here to learn. “What we do today creates the memories of tomorrow.”

Love always,

Nathaniel

 

Leave a Reply

