Peace Comes From Within

This morning I sat in my office listening to the rain outside my window. The gentle drumming of the rain accompanied by the flow of water down the eves provides a wonderful symphony to my ears. As I sat back and listened I could also hear the birds singing. It was such a peaceful moment. It was peaceful because that was what I chose.

Peace comes from within. There is no external force available that can bring peace to you. You are always in control of what happens within. This may be hard to believe or understand when it seems the world could be falling apart all around you. However, it is one of the simple truths.

I do not always feel at peace. Many times I let frustration and impatience dominate my mind. When that happens it never helps me accomplish anything. Rather, frustration only leads to anger. If I would allow it, anger would lead to hate. Such a path is never a good path. When I find myself on this path I must immediately stop and take notice of all that is around me. There is good in all things so I just need to find it. By looking at what is happening around me, and evaluating the cause of the frustration that I feel, I can work on understanding. With understanding I can reduce my frustration and bring peace back to my mind.

Alternatively, I can hide behind excuses that this or that happened; that they did this or they said that. I could let other things control my mind, but what benefit is it to me that I would give control of my mind to some external influence?

It is not an easy task to break the pattern of anger and frustration.

Perspectives_Cover

To see the good in all things with a different perspective

We all have our pride, we have our desire, we have our beliefs. However, these types of emotions are not always used in the most productive ways. When used negatively we impose our own will upon others and then they too suffer their own frustration and anger. To break the cycle of frustration and anger we can only start with ourselves. Yet, when we are able to effectively eliminate our own frustration there is no guarantee that the frustration felt by others will equally be eliminated. What we will see is that we will no longer feel the personal impact of how others interact with us.

Peace comes from within when you are able to change your perspectives.

God Loves You.

Love always

Nathaniel

 

Leave a Reply

