Obsessions

I was thinking on a few things and I recall my brother telling me I was obsessive. I hardly thought it was true at the time and haven’t given it much thought since until this morning.  I asked myself if I have a obsessive personality.

Is it right or wrong to be obsessive? Once again I pulled up an online dictionary to find that to obsess is to let an idea or thought continually preoccupy or intrude on your mind.  Ok, I have a lot of thoughts and ideas that fill and intrude on my mind, but they come and go and though the thought may intrude on my find with some level of frequency I would hesitate to call it continually.

What are things I think about frequently? Well, I think about my wife, things I could do to upgrade our home, how to save money, how much money we have to spend, food, my weight, friends, writing, taxes, body pain, the weather, children, grandchildren, people I have known in the past, mistakes I have made and dreams of things I could do in the future. I think about things that I do that I should not do and things that I say that I should not say. I think about what to do and what to say. I often think about how to live, I rarely think about how to die. I often think about who I am.

I have all of these things that go through my mind, so which is more prevalent than the others, what thoughts could be called obsessive? For example, in terms of money I track money earned, to be earned, spent and to be spent. I have multiple worksheets to track this and use both online applications and other computer tools to track where we have been and where we will be in the future. I could call this obsessive but I would rather call in prudent planning, but even planning can become obsessive.

I must concede that I am surely obsessive about many things and there are times that I let some things intrude into my mind much more frequently than they should and so it is for so many that let hate intrude into their minds.

I often think about how to live. Very frequently, I wonder why all the hate is necessary. Though a small percentage of the whole, there are so many that promote and/or practice hatred and violence. Life hangs in a precarious balance.

I think about the pain of innocent children as they witness the carnage of hatred that surrounds their lives. I ask the question, “why is it necessary?” I think I understand how it is possible to hate like that, but when you think about it you may discover what I know to be true. The truth, for thousands of years people have fought and killed each other, each act of violence and hatred generating 10 fold new hatred and violence. In the history of the earth we have never ever seen a case where hatred and violence has led to peace and harmony. It has never happened, so why would anyone imagine that an obsession for hate and violence can or could create a better world for their children?

I am obsessive, are you? Regardless of what you say or do, God Loves you.

Love always

Nathaniel

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

