Put Whom First?

I was driving down the street and passed a church with a sign outside that said, “Put God first and you will always be happy.” I thought about this statement and honestly I do not think that it is correct.

God is very important in our lives, however, if God was first and foremost then we would need to ignore family and friends. In a world where God is first we may begin to dishonor people who do not think like we do. If God is first then we may start to do things in God’s name that was never intended by God, perhaps even start wars and destroy people and nations for what we think is right, in God’s behalf.

If we were created to put God first then why would we have come here to live? Something doesn’t make sense to me. We come to live here as the people of the world with different thoughts and different beliefs. If we put our belief in God gazastripabove others, then how do we ever live in peace and harmony? If we cannot live in peace and harmony how can we ever by happy? Looking at the image left, I think about what happens when people put God first.

So, whom do we put first? I was given a chance to ask two questions of an Angel. I did not know the best question to ask and when I discussed the importance of the questions with him he suggested a good question to ask is, “How do I love more?” So, I asked the question, “How do I love more?” He replied, “Learn to love yourself.” If this is the answer to a good question then perhaps I should put myself first, if I am to be happy.

If I put myself first then it implies that I ignore others for my own benefit. I don’t think I can do it this way because if I ignore my family then they are not happy and as a result I am not happy. Because I enjoy family I put them first and that makes me happy and because I enjoy being happy am I in effect putting myself first by putting them first?

I enjoy being liked by others so I make them important in my life. I used important rather than first because if others are not family and family is first then they hold a place between me and family. Is that true? HappyPeopleWorkingTogetherThere were many times when I placed work above family. Still, work provided an income which was important for my family to live and therefore by putting work first above family I was able to provide for my family which made them happy resulting in me being happy and because I did lots of good work my employer and co-workers were happy.

Given that all of the above is true, it would suggest that if we put others above ourselves and work together helping each other live that in the end we have put ourselves first because what we have done is made our self happy.

Whom do we put first? Think about it awhile and perhaps you will see that we need to put our selves and each other first in order to be happy.

Regardless of what you decide, God Loves You.

Love always,

Nathaniel

 

 

2 thoughts on “Put Whom First?

    1. perspectivesauthor Post author

      God does not help, God loves. Some people look for the excuse of “God’s will.” God’s will is that we exist the rest is up to us. Rely first on each other. Thanks for your comments, love always.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

