Habits

Do you have any habits? It’s a funny sounding word, I must admit. More funny may be some of the habits that we share. For example, young children may pick up the habit of picking their nose. Most of us have probably done this more than once, after all, it is important to have an unobstructed airway in order to breathe. (smile)Gods_Love

A behavior becomes a habit my regular repetition until the point that it becomes automatic or habitual. Years ago when I smoked cigarettes, whenever I stopped to talk with someone my right hand would automatically reach toward my shirt pocket to get a cigarette. Even after I quit smoking, for a long time afterward, I would still reach for a cigarette each time I stopped to talk with someone.

Some habits that we develop are good while others are not so good. For example, we can develop habits of simply preparing to go to work. Each morning when we get up we must proceed through our normal morning routines. IMAG0381These routines can also be defined as habits if they are performed in a nearly automatic fashion. There have been times where I have completed my morning rituals of preparing to leave for work and suddenly, while driving down the road all of a sudden realizing that I could hardly recall anything that had happened since I woke that morning.

A habit can be formed by any repetitive behavior. Consider these types of behaviors: Yelling at your children or spouse;angry being angry at your boss or a coworker; gossiping; arguing; speaking too loud; criticizing others; slovenly acts; cursing; being rude. If we repeat these behaviors frequently there will come a time when the behavior is so automatic that we will not even know we are doing it.

We can become prisoners to our habits. Someone may ask us why we do something and we might not even know why or we may say that we have always done it this way. Governments develop habits the same was as individuals. If we look close enough we can see that bad habits, such as over spending, are equally destructive to both the individual and governments.

I do not want to be angry. I do not want to yell, criticize, argue or fight. I would like to throw away habits of self-indulgence. I do not want to be afraid anymore.

I want to be aware of all things that I do. I wish to always do the right things for the right reasons. I believe that we can change our habits just like I was able to change my habit of smoking cigarettes. In the case of smoking, one day I decided that I would not smoke cigarettes anymore and on that day I simply broke the habit. It was a choice that I made in order to live a longer life. If I am to live a longer life then that life must be worth living and therefore I must toss aside the bad habits that I have developed and either replace them with good habits or just leave that space open for the opportunity to do something more spontaneous.

Practice love and you can love, practice caring and you will care. Practice sharing and you will share, practice giving and you will relish in your generosity.

Investigate your habits.

Perspectives_Cover

To see the good in all things with a different perspective

What are you doing habitually of which you are not aware?  Are you kind and generous or mean and resentful? Perhaps you think yourself one way but act contrary to your thoughts due to habits.

Whatever you do, know that it is your choice as to how you behave. Regardless of your choices God will never love you more or less due to those choices. God infinite love for you is unconditional.

Love always,

Nathaniel

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

