Love Always

I was just reminiscing about the past week. It was an interesting week filled with both sorrow and joy. As I watched the week unfold I often found myself tearing up. At times I was overjoyed and other times I was remorseful. Last week was a time to say farewell to one and hello to many others.

During this time there were some who struggled with their memories of the past. There were some who would rather bury that past and only talk about the future. I can understand that position, however, for the one who is wounded with painful memories, hiding the past only produces more pain. When we are in situations like this we must be willing to listen and let the wounds be uncovered. If we can listen without defenses; when we listen with understanding, we can remove barriers to our relationships. Take the time to understand and embrace the pain. Let love uncover and heal the wounds.

I cannot ever express enough the response you can get with love. Standing in front of family that I had not seen in decades the uncertainty barriers where all over the place. I was not there to hide behind barriers. Rather, my wife and I were there to support family and to mourn the loss of a brother that was close to her heart but separated by events. I greeted each of her family with kind words and hugs, lots of hugs. Each person receiving a hug paid the love forward and embraced their sister and aunt with more tender love.

There are a thousand reasons why we stay apart but there is only one reason that brings us together. That reason is love. Be willing to step forward and show your love. Your first move can make all the difference.

Never forget the memories you have of family and friends. Never forget that the things you do today create the memories for tomorrow. There is no greater memory than the love we share with each other.

God loves you.

Love always,

Nathaniel

Leave a Reply

